Skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on Orders Over $70. Low Flat Rate of $6.99 on Orders Under $70.

Yogi wearing My Yoga Essentials tank top that reads

Understanding Chakras As a Gateway To Better Understanding Yourself

Everything in our universe is made up of energy, from the towering mountains, the deep seas to the tiny blades of grass. In human bodies, every single cell radiates energy in diverse ways depending on its location and purpose.

Long before the emergence of modern technology and science, ancient societies already knew that all things sustained a life force in them. They named the different channels through which energy moves inside of us the chakras. Learning about the chakras allows one to sync better with the natural energy cycles of your body.

What are Chakras?

The word chakra means wheel or disk in the ancient Sanskrit language. Historically, the word is mentioned as early as 600 B.C. by Yoga Upanishads. They are referred to as wheels since they are said to be spinning forces of energy. There are 7 main chakras within key centers of our body, and their responsibility is to take in, transform, and pass on energy to ensure we are operating at optimum levels.

Chakras are not physical entities. Instead, they are energetic. But like the whirling blades of a fan, just because they aren't visible doesn't mean they don't exist.  No one chakra is more important than the other. Each one is connected to a certain part of the body and organ, providing it the energy it requires to operate.

In a healthy individual, the 7 chakras provide the right balance of energy to all parts of the mind, body, and soul. However, if one chakra spins too fast, is blocked, or isn't moving at the ideal rate, your mood, interactions with others, health and well-being on all levels are affected.

An Overview of the 7 Chakras

The chakras are situated along the spine.

  • Resting at the base of the spine is the root chakra, connecting us to the earth.
  • Above it is the sacral chakra, related to passion, sexuality, and empathy.
  • The solar plexus chakra located just below the chest represents will power and identity.
  • The heart chakra is where divine love and compassion emanate.
  • The throat chakra is the center of communication.
  • The third eye chakra, located at the base of the forehead represents insight and intuition.
  • The crown chakra represents consciousness.

Each chakra is represented by a particular color and symbol, and mirrors a specific aspect of life. The chakras in the lower levels are associated with the fundamental emotions and needs, while the higher ones correspond to the mental and spiritual aspirations.  (More information on the symbolism of the 7 chakras here)

When the flow in any chakra is blocked, the effects manifest themselves physically or emotionally. For instance, if your heart chakra is blocked, you may experience physical effects like high blood pressure and heartburns, or emotional ones such as lack of self-appreciation. These symptoms communicate to you what you have been doing to your body.

Harmonizing Is Key

When your chakra energy levels are harmonized, the body easily finds ways to move energy in and out. When one chakra is closed or underactive, another chakra will be forced to try and make up the difference. An underactive or overactive chakra is counterproductive.

How Yoga Can Help You Attain Balance

Learning yoga will help you to identify a weak chakra, and align it back into the right balance. Yoga teaches us to experience and control these energy centers and create free and humming flow. It allows us to reverse imbalances just like rehydrating your body after you feel thirsty.

To boost the health of your energetic systems, you can meditate on the chakras. Visualize your energy centers rotating vibrantly, filling your body with health, wisdom, and light. Growing your yoga and meditation practice will allow you to recognize your weakest chakra(s), improve your health and well being, help you re-adjust your life, and enable you to restore your balance.

At My Yoga Essentials, we have a wide variety of products that can help serve as a reminder to be present and aware of these vital energy centers.  You can find reminders of the chakras in anything from a bracelet you glance to on your wrist, the mat you practice on, the shirts or workout clothes you wear, or a piece of art on your wall.  Find the shirt the yogi is wearing here.  We have a 100% satisfaction guarantee, so you can be confident shopping with us.

If you've enjoyed this post, or have ideas for future blogs, we'd love to hear from you!  Send us your thoughts, or better yet, become a guest blogger. Submit your ideas and we'll get back to you with guest blogger requirements.

Older Post
Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Close (esc)

Shipping Notice

Hello and thanks for visiting our store. We are presently away and unable to process shipments until Saturday May 27th. If you place an order today it will be shipped then. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

Age verification


Added to cart